Dropbox Password Resets
Recently some of our clients and ourselves have received emails from Dropbox warning of a password reset requirement. This is only sent to users who:
- Signed up to use Dropbox before mid-2012, and
- Have not changed their password since mid-2012
This is legitimate and comes about because of a security breach that occurred in 2012. There is no indication that individual users have had their dropbox data compromised.
In addition a number of security agencies are reporting the news of the dropbox password reset.
Even though it is an email that comes from Dropbox we would suggest that you go directly to http://dropbox.com – sign out if already signed in. Once you go to sign in you will see this screen.
Once you enter your email address and hit Submit you will receive an email with the reset link.
After resetting your password you should also receive this confirmation email.
You will also need to sign back in on any other devices like mobile phones or tablets etc.